clock menu more-arrow no yes

The South Africa Literary Awards revealed their shortlist back in October. Now in November, the victors have been declared. Not every piece that was shortlisted made the cut; as was to be expected, some were pure gold and some were garbage.

There was a lot of hope for the South African writers who made the SALA shortlist on Tuesday, November 7, 2023. The University of North West, Potchefstroom hosted the announcement of the winners, giving them cause for celebration and the likelihood to work even harder to maintain their uniqueness.

The prize is given out in several categories, such as

  • Children’s Literature Award.
  • Youth Literature Award.
  • First-Time Published Author Award.
  • K Sello Duiker Memorial Award.
  • Poetry Award.
  • Nadine Gordimer Short Story Award.
  • Creative Non-Fiction Award.
  • Novel Award.

This years award winners are as follow:

Children’s Literature Award

  • Sinathi Mpukwana, Unakho
  • Molebatsi Bosilong, Montsane le Motho
  • Philip de Vos, Tokkelossiebossie en ander dol gedoentes
  • Claudette Browne Storrar, Nelly and Sam Thwala

First Time Published Award

  • Ayanda Chris Mntwapi, Bohlulwe Kukusa
  • Ntloro Charlotte Pebane, Lerato la Lepheko
  • Shevlyn Mottai, Across the Kala Pani

Poetry Award

  • Kaka Mokakale, Tswina ya poko
  • Anelisa Thengimfene, Amajingiqhiw’ entlalo
  • Michèle Betty, Dark Horse

Novel Award

  • Sue Nyathi, An Angel’s Demise
  • Thivhusiwi G Tshindane Tshivhulax, Hone Hu Tshi Tea U Maliwa Nga Vhugai?
  • Kobate John Sekele, Re Hwile la Pitsana

Lauretta Ngcobo, Sabata Mpho Mokae, Nadine Gordimer, Miriam Tlali, Wally Mongane Serote, Sindiwe Magona, Zakes Mda, Panashe Chigumadzi, and Phillippa Yaa de Villiers are among the writers who have received recognition from the award since its establishment in 2005.

Zukiswa Wanner, Nuruddin Farah, and Sihle Khumalo are the other winners.

Do you find Legitloaded useful? Click here to give us five stars rating!

Top Tags